Realizing It’s Great to Dress Up

Today Charles and I went shopping for clothes (because he had promised me after he had done up his car) and as I was browsing the racks I found the cutest shirt ever. Well, to be honest, it wasn’t the cutest shirt ever found in the history of time you but you get what I’m saying. Charles, being the awesome and wonderful boyfriend he is, was patient with me because I can take forever with shopping. Ask my family, they know. He also picked out a few piece of clothing for me to try on too. But back to what I was originally talking about, the shirt was this nice blue green color (wonderful color I think that went with me) but had this huge gape in the back… Tried it on and looked great. Loved it.

And to my point… putting on that shirt (and the other new clothes I just bought) felt good. They wasn’t just plain clothes, they were dress up clothes and it felt good to have some. As a mom, especially a new one, I found the first months as one a little overwhelming but most of all I didn’t feel like I had the time to do me time. I’m sure a lot of other mothers understand what I mean.

Don’t get me wrong, I started to actually dress up even if I was going out to the store before this previous event but it just made me think about it. For new mothers (heck, for mothers in general) don’t forget about yourself! It’s hard to forget about yourself, to take care of yourself and get me time. I know, I know: easier said than done. But, even the simplest things go a long way. I dress up as often as I can, because it feels good. Charles and I don’t have many date nights (very few in between) so therefore opportunities to really dress up can be slim so I make outings opportunities. If you have someone that can watch your little one, ask them to and go do a “me” thing.

I also love dressing up my daughter, lol. But what mothers don’t like dressing up their children? ❤

Leave a Reply

